Feb 2020 Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law – 4 Things You Need To Know
Effective Sunday, February 23, 2020
Massachusetts newly enacted Hands Free Driving law amends M.G.L. c. 90, § 13B and states that, “No operator of a motor vehicle shall hold a mobile electronic device” or “use a mobile electronic device unless the device is being used in hands-free mode.” The statute defines “hands-free mode” as use without the user holding or touching the device except to initiate the hands-mode feature of the device
1. Emergency Use Definition:
The law which applies to both operators of motor vehicles and bicycles does allow “emergency” use of a hand-held device to report that:
⦁ The vehicle was disabled;
⦁ Medical attention or assistance was required;
⦁ Police intervention, fire department or other emergency services were necessary for the personal safety of the operator or a passenger or to otherwise ensure the safety of the public;
⦁ A disabled vehicle or an accident was present on a roadway.
2. Big Fines:
A first-time violation with result in a $100 fine, a second offense will be a $250 fine, followed by a $500 fine for a third or subsequent offense
3. Insurance costs will rise:
The first or second offense is not categorized as a “surchargeable incident”, a third or more will be raise your insurance by hitting you with a surcharge. You will also be required to complete an education program after your 2nd offense.
4. Grace Period:
Although the law will take effect on February 23, 2020, first-time violators cited from February 23, 2020 until March 31, 2020, will receive warnings.
If you would like to learn more about the law – click here.
At Anastasi Insurance, we keep you up to date on everything that affects your insurance. Contact us today if you have any questions.